People

You are here

Department Chair

Faculty

Chinese | Japanese | Korean | Russian & Slavic | South Asian

Graduate Students

Chinese | Korean | Japanese | Russian | South Asian

Faculty

Table of Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name Area Email Office Phone
Hindi aniruddha-dutta@uiowa.edu 401 JB 319-335-0035
German, Russian anna-dyer@uiowa.edu 630 PH 319-467-0206
Japanese kendall-heitzman@uiowa.edu 657 PH 319-335-5104
Japanese noriko-higashitani@uiowa.edu 628 PH 319-353-2967
Chinese chuanren-ke@uiowa.edu 653 PH 319-335-2156
Russian irina-kostina@uiowa.edu 634 PH 319-335-0171
Chinese yuan-lu-2@uiowa.edu 632 PH 319-467-0209
Russian margaret-mills@uiowa.edu 638 PH 319-335-2848
Japanese yumiko-nishi@uiowa.edu 663 PH 319-335-2159
Japanese kosuke-ogaki@uiowa.edu 662 PH 319-467-0397
Japanese nana-onishi@uiowa.edu 671 PH 319-467-1630
Korean joung-a-park@uiowa.edu 631 PH 319-335-3555
Chinese helen-shen@uiowa.edu 661 PH 319-335-2314
Japanese yuki-shimizu@uiowa.edu 666 PH 319-467-0398
Sanskrit frederick-smith@uiowa.edu 626 PH 319-353-2203
Japanese kendra-strand@uiowa.edu 667 PH 319-335-1278
Chinese newellann-vanauken@uiowa.edu 624 PH 319-467-0211
Korean sang-seok-yoon@uiowa.edu 669 PH 319-353-2204
Chinese huiqiang-zheng@uiowa.edu 636 PH 319-467-1628

Chinese

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Chuanren Ke

Professor, Director, FLARE
chuanren-ke@uiowa.edu 319-335-2156 653 PH

Yuan Lu

Lecturer, Interim Chinese Program Coordinator
yuan-lu-2@uiowa.edu 319-467-0209 632 PH 2 – 5 pm Mondays or by appointment , email for Zoom link

Helen H. Shen

Professor, Interim DEO of Asian & Slavic Languages and Literatures
helen-shen@uiowa.edu 319-335-2314 661 PH Virtual office hours: Mondays: 12:30 to 3:30, email for Zoom link

Newell Ann Van Auken

Lecturer
newellann-vanauken@uiowa.edu 319-467-0211 624 PH Mondays and Tuesdays, 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. , email for Zoom link

Huiqiang Zheng

Lecturer
huiqiang-zheng@uiowa.edu 319-467-1628 636 PH Tue from 10:30 a.m.- 1:30 p.m., email for Zoom link
Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Na Li

Adjunct Instructor
na-li@uiowa.edu 627 PH

Xi Ma

Visiting Instructor
xi-ma@uiowa.edu 319-335-0159 627 PH Mon/Tues 1:30-3pm, email for Zoom link

Liying Sun

Adjunct Assistant Professor
liying-sun@uiowa.edu 319-467-1629 627 PH Not teaching, Fall 2020

Japanese

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Kendall Heitzman

Associate Professor
kendall-heitzman@uiowa.edu 319-335-5104 657 PH On leave, Fall 2020

Noriko Higashitani

Lecturer
noriko-higashitani@uiowa.edu 319-353-2967 628 PH

Yumiko Nishi

Associate Professor, ASLL DUS, Japanese Program Coordinator
yumiko-nishi@uiowa.edu 319-335-2159 663 PH MW 1:30-3:00 and by appointment, email for Zoom link

Kosuke Ogaki

Lecturer
kosuke-ogaki@uiowa.edu 319-467-0397 662 PH Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 11:00–12:00., email for Zoom link

Nana Onishi

Lecturer
nana-onishi@uiowa.edu 319-467-1630 671 PH Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays, 12:30 p.m. – 1:00 p.m., 3:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m., and by appointment, email for Zoom link

Yuki Shimizu

Lecturer
yuki-shimizu@uiowa.edu 319-467-0398 666 PH Wed and Fri: 2:30 – 4:00 pm, email for Zoom link

Kendra Strand

Assistant Professor
kendra-strand@uiowa.edu 319-335-1278 667 PH Tu/Th 10:45am-12:15pm or by appointment., email for Zoom link

Korean

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Joung-A Park

Lecturer
joung-a-park@uiowa.edu 319-335-3555 631 PH

Sang-Seok Yoon

Associate Professor of Instruction, Korean Program Coordinator
sang-seok-yoon@uiowa.edu 319-353-2204 669 PH Wed/Th 12:30-2:00pm , email for Zoom link

Russian and Slavic

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Anna Dyer

Lecturer
anna-dyer@uiowa.edu 319-467-0206 630 PH Tuesdays and Thursdays 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. and by appointment , email for Zoom link

Irina Kostina

Associate Professor of Instruction, Russian Program Coordinator
irina-kostina@uiowa.edu 319-335-0171 634 PH 4th year Russian: Fridays, 9:30-10:45; Slavic Folklore: Fridays, 3:30-4:40, First year Russian, section 1: 11:30-12:20; First year Russian, section 2: Fridays, 1:30-2:20

Margaret H. Mills

Professor
margaret-mills@uiowa.edu 319-335-2848 638 PH
Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Anna Barker

Visiting Assistant Professor
anna-barker@uiowa.edu 319-335-0169 629 PH

Oleg Timofeyev

Visiting Assistant Professor
oleg-timofeyev@uiowa.edu 319-467-0208 556 PH

South Asian

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Aniruddha Dutta

Associate Professor
aniruddha-dutta@uiowa.edu 319-335-0035 401 JB

Frederick M. Smith

Professor
frederick-smith@uiowa.edu 319-353-2203 626 PH