People

You are here

Department Chair

Faculty

Chinese | Japanese | Korean | Russian & Slavic | South Asian

Graduate Students

Chinese | Korean | Japanese | Russian | South Asian

Faculty

Table of Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name Area Email Office Phone
Hindi aniruddha-dutta@uiowa.edu 401 JB 319-335-0035
German, Russian anna-dyer@uiowa.edu 630 PH 319-467-0206
Japanese kendall-heitzman@uiowa.edu 657 PH 319-335-5104
Japanese noriko-higashitani@uiowa.edu 628 PH 319-353-2967
Chinese chuanren-ke@uiowa.edu 653 PH 319-335-2156
Russian irina-kostina@uiowa.edu 634 PH 319-335-0171
Chinese yuan-lu-2@uiowa.edu 632 PH 319-467-0209
Russian margaret-mills@uiowa.edu 638 PH 319-335-2848
Russian alexandra-niemi-1@uiowa.edu 624 PH 319-467-0210
Japanese yumiko-nishi@uiowa.edu 663 PH 319-335-2159
Japanese kosuke-ogaki@uiowa.edu 671 PH 319-467-0397
Japanese nana-onishi@uiowa.edu 671 PH 319-467-1630
Korean joung-a-park@uiowa.edu 631 PH 319-335-3555
Chinese helen-shen@uiowa.edu 661 PH 319-335-2314
Japanese yuki-shimizu@uiowa.edu 666 PH 319-467-0398
Sanskrit frederick-smith@uiowa.edu 626 PH 319-353-2203
Japanese kendra-strand@uiowa.edu 667 PH 319-335-1278
Chinese newellann-vanauken@uiowa.edu 624 PH 319-467-0211
Korean sang-seok-yoon@uiowa.edu 669 PH 319-353-2204
Chinese huiqiang-zheng@uiowa.edu 636 PH 319-467-1628

Chinese

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Chuanren Ke

Professor, Director, FLARE
chuanren-ke@uiowa.edu 319-335-2156 653 PH Th 9:00-12:00

Yuan Lu

Lecturer
yuan-lu-2@uiowa.edu 319-467-0209 632 PH Th 2:00-5:00

Helen H. Shen

Professor
helen-shen@uiowa.edu 319-335-2314 661 PH M 2:00-5:00

Newell Ann Van Auken

Lecturer
newellann-vanauken@uiowa.edu 319-467-0211 624 PH M 12:30-3:30

Huiqiang Zheng

Lecturer
huiqiang-zheng@uiowa.edu 319-467-1628 636 PH M 2:00-5:00
Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Liying Sun

Visiting Assistant Professor
liying-sun@uiowa.edu 319-467-1629 627 PH M 2:00-3:00, T 5:00-6:30

Japanese

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Kendall Heitzman

Associate Professor
kendall-heitzman@uiowa.edu 319-335-5104 657 PH F 3:00-5:00

Noriko Higashitani

Lecturer
noriko-higashitani@uiowa.edu 319-353-2967 628 PH M W F 1:30-2:30

Yumiko Nishi

Assistant Professor
yumiko-nishi@uiowa.edu 319-335-2159 663 PH M W 1:30-3:00

Kosuke Ogaki

Lecturer
kosuke-ogaki@uiowa.edu 319-467-0397 671 PH M T Th 3:30-4:30

Nana Onishi

Lecturer
nana-onishi@uiowa.edu 319-467-1630 671 PH M W Th 2:30-3:30

Yuki Shimizu

Lecturer
yuki-shimizu@uiowa.edu 319-467-0398 666 PH T W Th 3:30-4:30

Kendra Strand

Assistant Professor
kendra-strand@uiowa.edu 319-335-1278 667 PH Not Teaching Fall 19

Korean

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Joung-A Park

Lecturer
joung-a-park@uiowa.edu 319-335-3555 631 PH M Th 2:30-3:30, W 11:20-12:20

Sang-Seok Yoon

Associate Professor of Instruction
sang-seok-yoon@uiowa.edu 319-353-2204 669 PH T 12:30-2:00, Th 12:30-2:00
Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Hyeyoon Kwark

Visiting Instructor
hyeyoon-kwark@uiowa.edu 623 PH T 1:00-4:00

Russian and Slavic

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Anna Dyer

Lecturer
anna-dyer@uiowa.edu 319-467-0206 630 PH M 10:30-11:30, W 9:30-11:30

Irina Kostina

Associate Professor of Instruction, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Russian
irina-kostina@uiowa.edu 319-335-0171 634 PH M W 1:30-3:00

Margaret H. Mills

Professor
margaret-mills@uiowa.edu 319-335-2848 638 PH M 1:00-3:00, T 3:30-4:30

Alexandra Niemi

Lecturer
alexandra-niemi-1@uiowa.edu 319-467-0210 624 PH M T W 11:30-12:30
Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Anna Barker

Visiting Assistant Professor
anna-barker@uiowa.edu 319-335-0169 629 PH T 12:00-2:00

Oleg Timofeyev

Visiting Assistant Professor
oleg-timofeyev@uiowa.edu 319-467-0208 556 PH T Th 1:45-3:15

South Asian

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Aniruddha Dutta

Assistant Professor
aniruddha-dutta@uiowa.edu 319-335-0035 401 JB T 2:30-4:30, Th 2:30-3:30

Frederick M. Smith

Professor, DEO of Asian & Slavic Languages and Literatures
frederick-smith@uiowa.edu 319-353-2203 626 PH