People

You are here

Department Chair

Faculty

Chinese | Japanese | Korean | Russian & Slavic | South Asian

Graduate Students

Chinese | Korean | Japanese | Russian | South Asian

Faculty

Table of Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name Area Email Office Phone
Hindi aniruddha-dutta@uiowa.edu 401 JB 319-335-0035
Japanese kendall-heitzman@uiowa.edu 657 PH 319-335-5104
Japanese noriko-higashitani@uiowa.edu 628 PH 319-353-2967
Chinese chuanren-ke@uiowa.edu 653 PH 319-335-2156
Russian irina-kostina@uiowa.edu 634 PH 319-335-0171
Chinese yuan-lu-2@uiowa.edu 632 PH 319-467-0209
Russian margaret-mills@uiowa.edu 638 PH 319-335-2848
Japanese yumiko-nishi@uiowa.edu 663 PH 319-335-2159
Japanese kosuke-ogaki@uiowa.edu 671 PH 319-467-0397
Chinese helen-shen@uiowa.edu 661 PH 319-335-2314
Japanese yuki-shimizu@uiowa.edu 671 PH 319-467-0398
Sanskrit frederick-smith@uiowa.edu 626 PH 319-353-2203
Japanese kendra-strand@uiowa.edu 636 PH 319-335-1278
Chinese newellann-vanauken@uiowa.edu 624 PH 319-467-0211
Korean sang-seok-yoon@uiowa.edu 669 PH 319-353-2204

Chinese

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Chuanren Ke

Professor, Director, FLARE
chuanren-ke@uiowa.edu 319-335-2156 653 PH

Yuan Lu

Lecturer
yuan-lu-2@uiowa.edu 319-467-0209 632 PH

Helen H. Shen

Professor
helen-shen@uiowa.edu 319-335-2314 661 PH

Newell Ann Van Auken

Lecturer
newellann-vanauken@uiowa.edu 319-467-0211 624 PH

Japanese

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Kendall Heitzman

Assistant Professor
kendall-heitzman@uiowa.edu 319-335-5104 657 PH

Noriko Higashitani

Lecturer
noriko-higashitani@uiowa.edu 319-353-2967 628 PH

Yumiko Nishi

Assistant Professor
yumiko-nishi@uiowa.edu 319-335-2159 663 PH

Kosuke Ogaki

Lecturer
kosuke-ogaki@uiowa.edu 319-467-0397 671 PH

Yuki Shimizu

Lecturer
yuki-shimizu@uiowa.edu 319-467-0398 671 PH

Kendra Strand

Assistant Professor
kendra-strand@uiowa.edu 319-335-1278 636 PH

Korean

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Sang-Seok Yoon

Lecturer
sang-seok-yoon@uiowa.edu 319-353-2204 669 PH
Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Joung-A Park

Visiting Instructor
joung-a-park@uiowa.edu 319-384-1280 631 PH

Russian and Slavic

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Irina Kostina

Associate Professor of Instruction and , Director of Undergraduate Studies in Russian
irina-kostina@uiowa.edu 319-335-0171 634 PH

Margaret H. Mills

Professor
margaret-mills@uiowa.edu 319-335-2848 638 PH
Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Anna Barker

Adjunct Assistant Professor
anna-barker@uiowa.edu 319-335-0169 635 PH

Anna Dyer

Visiting Assistant Professor
anna-dyer@uiowa.edu 319-467-0206 631 PH

Alexandra Niemi

Visiting Instructor
alexandra-niemi-1@uiowa.edu 319-467-0210 624 PH

Oleg Timofeyev

Adjunct Assistant Professor
oleg-timofeyev@uiowa.edu 319-467-0208 629 PH

South Asian

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Aniruddha Dutta

Assistant Professor
aniruddha-dutta@uiowa.edu 319-335-0035 401 JB

Frederick M. Smith

Professor, DEO of Asian & Slavic Languages and Literatures
frederick-smith@uiowa.edu 319-353-2203 626 PH