People

You are here

Department Chair

Faculty

Chinese | Japanese | Korean | Russian & Slavic | South Asian

Graduate Students

Chinese | Korean | Japanese | Russian | South Asian

Faculty

Table of Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name Area Email Office Phone
Hindi aniruddha-dutta@uiowa.edu 401 JB 319-335-0035
Japanese kendall-heitzman@uiowa.edu 657 PH 319-335-5104
Japanese noriko-higashitani@uiowa.edu 628 PH 319-353-2967
Chinese chuanren-ke@uiowa.edu 653 PH 319-335-2156
Russian irina-kostina@uiowa.edu 634 PH 319-335-0171
Chinese yuan-lu-2@uiowa.edu 632 PH 319-467-0209
Russian margaret-mills@uiowa.edu 638 PH 319-335-2848
Japanese yumiko-nishi@uiowa.edu 663 PH 319-335-2159
Japanese kosuke-ogaki@uiowa.edu 671 PH 319-467-0397
Chinese helen-shen@uiowa.edu 661 PH 319-335-2314
Japanese yuki-shimizu@uiowa.edu 671 PH 319-467-0398
Sanskrit frederick-smith@uiowa.edu 626 PH 319-353-2203
Japanese kendra-strand@uiowa.edu 636 PH 319-335-1278
Chinese bo-sun@uiowa.edu 630 PH 319-335-2155
Chinese newellann-vanauken@uiowa.edu 624 PH 319-467-0211
Korean sang-seok-yoon@uiowa.edu 669 PH 319-353-2204

Chinese

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Chuanren Ke

Professor, Director, FLARE
chuanren-ke@uiowa.edu 319-335-2156 653 PH Th 9:30-12:00

Yuan Lu

Lecturer
yuan-lu-2@uiowa.edu 319-467-0209 632 PH F 2:00-5:00

Helen H. Shen

Professor
helen-shen@uiowa.edu 319-335-2314 661 PH On Leave

Bo Sun

Lecturer
bo-sun@uiowa.edu 319-335-2155 630 PH W Th 1:30-3:00

Newell Ann Van Auken

Lecturer
newellann-vanauken@uiowa.edu 319-467-0211 624 PH M 12:30-3:30
Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Max Bohnenkamp

Visiting Assistant Professor
max-bohnenkamp@uiowa.edu 319-467-0392 627 PH M W 2:00-3:30

Jing Xia

Confucius Institute - Visiting Scholar from 2018 to 2019
jing-xia@uiowa.edu 123-D PH W 2:00-5:00

Jinli Xu

Confucius Institute - Visiting Scholar from 2017 to 2019
jinli-xu@uiowa.edu 123-D PH

Japanese

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Kendall Heitzman

Assistant Professor
kendall-heitzman@uiowa.edu 319-335-5104 657 PH T Th 10:45-12:15

Noriko Higashitani

Lecturer
noriko-higashitani@uiowa.edu 319-353-2967 628 PH M Th 3:30-5:00

Yumiko Nishi

Assistant Professor
yumiko-nishi@uiowa.edu 319-335-2159 663 PH M W 1:30-3:00

Kosuke Ogaki

Lecturer
kosuke-ogaki@uiowa.edu 319-467-0397 671 PH M Th 3:30-5:00

Yuki Shimizu

Lecturer
yuki-shimizu@uiowa.edu 319-467-0398 671 PH T Th 2:00-3:00, W 11:00-12:00

Kendra Strand

Assistant Professor
kendra-strand@uiowa.edu 319-335-1278 636 PH M 1:00-4:00
Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Matthew Chudnow

Visiting Assistant Professor
matthew-chudnow@uiowa.edu 319-467-0393 666 PH M W F 3:30-4:30

Korean

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Sang-Seok Yoon

Lecturer
sang-seok-yoon@uiowa.edu 319-353-2204 669 PH M W F 10:30-11:30
Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Min Suk Kang

Visiting Scholar
minsuk-kang@uiowa.edu 319-467-0187 123E PH M T W 10:30-11:30

Joung-A Park

Visiting Instructor
joung-a-park@uiowa.edu 319-384-1280 631 PH M T W 9:00-10:00

Jekyoung Sim

Visiting Scholar
jekyoung-sim@uiowa.edu 123E PH M W 2:00-3:00, T 9:30-10:30

Jee Hae Yoo

Visiting Scholar
123E PH W Th F 9:00-10:00

Russian and Slavic

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Irina Kostina

Senior Lecturer
irina-kostina@uiowa.edu 319-335-0171 634 PH 1:30 - 3:00 M, W, & by appointment

Margaret H. Mills

Professor
margaret-mills@uiowa.edu 319-335-2848 638 PH T 9:30-11:00, W 12:30-2:00
Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Anna Barker

Adjunct Assistant Professor
anna-barker@uiowa.edu 319-335-0169 635 PH T 3:30-4:30 prairie lights, Th 3:30-5:30

Anna Dyer

Visiting Assistant Professor
anna-dyer@uiowa.edu 319-467-0206 631 PH T W Th 8:30-9:20

Alexandra Niemi

Visiting Instructor
alexandra-niemi-1@uiowa.edu 319-467-0210 624 PH M W 11:30-1:00

Oleg Timofeyev

Adjunct Assistant Professor
oleg-timofeyev@uiowa.edu 319-467-0208 629 PH T Th 12:25-1:55

South Asian

Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Aniruddha Dutta

Assistant Professor
aniruddha-dutta@uiowa.edu 319-335-0035 401 JB

Frederick M. Smith

Professor, DEO of Asian & Slavic Languages and Literatures
frederick-smith@uiowa.edu 319-353-2203 626 PH T Th 1:30-3:00